Skip to content

1806 Adaptation – Ugly On the Inside

February 22, 2017

I noted that the 1806 hardware subroutine call and return operation use the stack a bit differently than my software implementation.  A matter of whether you decrement the stack pointer before you store or after.  I chose before and they chose after.  I remember thinking long and hard about this and deciding my way was better – oh well. It’s essentially arbitrary but because parameters and local variables are stored on the stack, I have to pick one regime and stick to it. As a short term kludge i am attempting to paper over the differences as follows:

  • Before each SCAL instruction I decrement the stack pointer so it’s pointing to free memory.  On entry to each function i increment the stack pointer to reverse this.
  • Before each return I decrement the stack again and after each I increment it (the after case is embedded in the ccall macro).

This is awful but I think it will work in the short term to keep me going.  When I get home with the text available I’ll attempt to unwind this and do the right thing: changing my push/pop regime; changing the offsets from the stack pointer for variables and parameters.

;the 1806 SCAL does not decrement SP before pushing the return address
;and the SRET increments it before reloading it
;to accommodate my convention I bracket call/returns with inc/dec as required
;note that the function prolog contains a call to adjspfor1806 which completes the cycle

adjspfor1806: macro	;need to inc the stack to accommodate 1806 - kludge
 if MOMCPU=$1805
 	inc 	2	;leaves sp pointing to last byte of return address
 endif
	endm
Ccall:	macro	target
 if MOMCPU=$1805
 	sex	2
 	dec	2
 	SCAL	6
	dw	target
 	inc	2
 else
	sep	RCALL
	dw	target
 endif
	endm
Cretn:	macro
 if MOMCPU=$1805
 	dec	2
 	sret	6
 else
	sep	RRET
 endif
	endm

I always want the last word so that wordpress doesn’t eat my code!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ugly But It Works! | olduino

Leave a Reply

