Skip to content

Code-And-Go: Close But No Cigar

March 3, 2016

With the original 1802 Olduino I have quite a sweet coding setup.  I use TextPad as my editor and I have one of its ‘tool’ buttons fitted out to run LCC1802 and another one to load the 1802:click, click, and it’s done. For the Olduino/Z I’m also using TextPad and I can compile with one button but loading the Z80 is a bit trickier.

The 1802 bootloads courtesy of an AVR chip that talks to avrdude on windows so my TextPad tool button just invokes avrdude which handles the rest.

The Olduino/Z is using Josh Bensadon’s monitor in ROM which has xmodem built in and I’ve modified it so that when it starts it looks for an xmodem transmission – if it doesn’t see it within a couple of seconds, it runs the program which is already loaded in ram.  So the workflow is:

  • compile using the textpad tool
  • start PuTTY or switch to it if it’s already running
  • click the ExtraPuTTY file-transfer menu, select xmodem send, navigate to the location of the binary and select it.
  • Physically click the reset button on the Olduino/Z so the bootloader runs and does the job.

It’s not horrible because at least I end up in PuTTY which is where I usually want to be but it does get old clicking around and it can be inconvenient to reach for the reset button if the Olduino/Z is connected to something else.

ExtraPuTTY is supposed to have some scripting tools but I just can NOT figure out the documentation or follow the Q&A on Stack Exchange so I’ve resorted to Python.

Python has an xmodem module so I’m able to make a simple xmodem sender as included below.  I’ve hard coded the comm port and file name in it but that’s just a small matter of programming.  The bootloader runs and loads the code into the Z80 and it starts but when I switch to, or start, the terminal program the bootloader runs again.  Looking at the RTS line I can see it going low briefly when PuTTY starts.  I’ve tried other programs and they all seem to do it.

Maybe the real problem is that the Olduino/Z’s bootloader is more intrusive but I’m pretty sure with the 1802 I can switch from the completed avrdude to my terminal program without it resetting a second time.  If I have an 1802 with me here I’ll try to verify that tomorrow.

import serial
try:
    from cStringIO import StringIO
except:
    from StringIO import StringIO
from xmodem import XMODEM, CRC
from time import sleep
import os
fileSize=os.path.getsize('C:\\Users\\bill\\Documents\\olduinoz\\z88dk\\helloworld\\a_code.bin')
print "File Size is",fileSize
def readUntil(char = None):
    def serialPortReader():
        while True:
            tmp = port.read(1)
            if not tmp or (char and char == tmp):
                break
            yield tmp
    return ''.join(serialPortReader())

def getc(size, timeout=1):
    return port.read(size)
xCount=0
def putc(data, timeout=1):
    global xCount
    xCount=xCount+1
    port.write(data)
    print("block %d(%d)" % (xCount,len(data)))
    sleep(0.001) # give device time to send ACK

#Main program starts here - open the serial port
port = serial.Serial(port='COM3',parity=serial.PARITY_NONE,bytesize=serial.EIGHTBITS,
                     stopbits=serial.STOPBITS_ONE,timeout=5,xonxoff=0,
                     rtscts=0,dsrdtr=0,baudrate=9600)
#toggle RTS to reset the Z80 then wait for the bootloader
port.setRTS(False)
port.setRTS(True)
readUntil(CRC)

stream = open('C:\\Users\\bill\\Documents\\olduinoz\\z88dk\\helloworld\\a_code.bin','rb')
print XMODEM(getc, putc).send(stream, quiet = 1)
stream.close()
From → Olduino/Z

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

