Skip to content

An Observation in Passing on Code Size

December 21, 2014

When I started working with llvm on my daughters old macbook it took HOURS to do a full build. My new macbook Pro still takes 30 minutes but updates are quick enough to be tolerable. I was still surprised to note that each instance of llvm takes up 6GB on disk (4GB without Clang) but i figured it was just a lot of code.

Today I noticed that my baseline source repository with clang is only(!) 220MB, the bulk is all in the build. 3GB is in the lib folder and 2GB in the debug folder. At some point I’ll have to track this down because nobody wants to download a 6GB compiler for their 1802.

For comparison, by the way, the LCC1802 C compiler source is 10MB and the distribution is about 100MB.

From → LLVM

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

