Skip to content

LCD Mystery

August 12, 2014

I have this little LCD meant for a nokia phone that I got from ebay years ago. It was my first introduction to spi and it has been my go-to spi test device ever since. it just needs a couple of initialization command bytes then you send a bit stream.

The Olduino salutes its roots.

The Olduino salutes its roots.

These are all seconds and pulls so it is a bit blemished. I wanted to use it in an exhibit so i ordered a new one from sparkfun. It’s red and pretty but it doesn’t work. I *can* get it to work on an arduino but not on the olduino. It flickers and shows a black screen sometimes but not my bit pattern.

I’ve tried a couple of different init sequences and slowing my SPI clock without success. I could certainly track this down because it’s just bit streams but I’m just going to let it go for now and use the original in the exhibit.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

